More Projects

The 2015 Sawiris Cultural Award Winners Announced

In pursuance of its policy  to support the Egyptian writers, and  to expand the circle of participation in the competition, the Sawiris Cultural Award board of trustees has agreed to increase the value of the prizes in all categories to EGP 1.12 million (an increase of 56 % compared with the previous 10 years).

The Sawiris Foundation for Social Development announced the winners of the 11th edition of Sawiris Cultural Award, which is dedicated to honor Egypt's late writer and novelist Gamal El-Ghitani.

The winners were announced in a ceremony held, 12 January 2016, at the Cairo Opera House, in the presence of the Minister of Culture, Mr. Helmy Namnam, Eng. Samih Sawiris; Chairman of Orascom Development Holdings, Eng. Naguib Sawiris; Executive Chairman of Orascom Telecom Media and Technology Holding, and the members of the Board of Trustees of the Sawiris Cultural Award. In addition, the ceremony welcomed the honorary presence of many Egyptian artists, public figures, intellectuals and media professionals.

The ceremony began with a documentary film about the history of the Sawiris Cultural Awards. Chairman of the SFSD Board of Trustees, Ambassador Mohamed Ibrahim Shaker as well as Dr Abul Ghar, Member of the Award Board gave short speeches affirming the role of the SFSD in supporting literature, creativity and freedom of expression. The Ceremony also featured a live performance by The Egyptian Singer Mohamed Mohsen and his ensemble.

The Winners of the 11th Edition:

This year the Award recognized 17 winners from established and emerging authors, screenwriters, playwrights and literary critics.

The prize for the best novel by established writers was shared by Reda El Bahat for his novel Saa Ramleya Taamal Belkahrobaa "Sand clock working with electricity" along with novelist Wahid Taweela for his novel Bab El Leil "The Night's Door".

Best Short Story Collection Award for established writers was shared by Amal Radwan for her collection El Beit El Awalany "The First House" and Amr Aly El Adly for his collection Hekayet Youssef Idris "The Tales of Youssef Idris".

The first prize for the Best Novel Award for emerging writers was shared by Ahmed Abdellatif for his novel  Ketab El Nahat "The Book of the Sculptor" and Khaled Ahmed for his novel Shark El Daery "East Ring Road".

The second prize for the Best Novel Award for emerging writers was also shared by Ahmed Ibrahim Al Sharif for his novel Mosem El Kabak “Season of the Kabak”, and Talat Faisal for his novel "Sorour".

Mohamed Kheir won the first prize for the Best Short Story Collection awarded to emerging writers for his collection Remsh El Ain "The Eyelash". The second place was shared by Iman Abdul Rahim for her collection Al Hogorat “The Rooms”, and Mostafa Zaki for his collection Tَakol Al Tayer mn Rَaseh "Birds Eat From his Head".

Best Scenario Award for established writers went to screenwriter Wessam Soliman for her script Okhti “My Sister”

Best Scenario Award for emerging writers went to Mohamed Mahrous for his script Dawaier Al-Saada "Circles of Happiness".

As for the Best Playwriting Award, Metwaly Hamed won first prize for his script Al-Hagez "The Border". The second prize was shared by Hamdy Eid for his script Goha Wa Baqaret Al-Sultan "Goha and the Sultan's Cow", and Waleed Alaa El-Din for his script 72 Sa3a Aafw "72 hours of Amnesty".

Best Literary Criticism Award went to Dr. Sayed Daif Allah for his book “the image of the nation between the poet and president”.

This year's competition received 476 entries in all categories. The winning submissions are selected by independent judging committees consisting of well-known writers and literary experts:

  • The jury of the novel and short stories for established writers: Mr. Said El Kafrawy, Dr. Hussine Hamouda, Dr. Kamal Mogheth, Mr. Mohamed Al Mansi Kandil, and Mr. Naeem  Sabry.

  • The jury of the novel and short stories for emerging writers: Mr. Mhamoud Al Werdani, Mr. Ahmed Zeham, Dr. Anwar Mogheth, Mr. Mohamed Shoair, and Mrs.Mansoura Ezz Eldeen.

  • The jury of the established screenwriters: Dr. li Abou Shadi, Mr. Besheer El-Deek, Mr. Kamal Ramzy, Mr. Abd El-Reheem Kamal, and Mrs. Hala Khalil.

  • The jury of the emerging screenwriters: Mr. Yousry Nasrallah, Mr. Magdy Ahmed Ali, Mr. Mohamed Kamel El-Qalyoubi, prof. Salma Mubarak, and Mr. Samir Farag.

  • The jury for the best playwriting: Mr. Essam El-Sayyed, Dr. Iman Ezz El-Din, Dr. Dina Amin, Mr. Lenin El-Ramly, and Mr. Nasser Abd El-Moneim.

  • The jury of literary criticism : Dr. Salah Fadl, Dr. Shaker Abdel Hameed, Dr. Haytham Alhaj Ali,  Dr. Amany Fouad, and Dr. Mostafa Dabh.


Sawiris Cultural Awards 2015 Ceremony